Introduction

Welcome to the blog of screenwriter, author, and illustrator G. E. Gallas!

Here is a brief introduction about me:

Ever since elementary school, I have been interested in all things Japanese. From the start, I was not only fascinated by traditions such as woodblock prints and the tea ceremony, but even more so by pop culture encompassing Japanese film, music, animation, etc. During my college career, I developed my knowledge of Japan with language, literature, and history courses. I spent my junior year abroad at Sophia University in Tokyo, where I honed my understanding of Japanese colloquialisms and nuances.

I am a recent graduate of New York University: Gallatin School of Individualized Study, where I created my own major involving the notions of identity, self, and otherness within the universal hero’s quest. This cross-cultural study encompassed various mediums of storytelling, including literature, graphic novels, and film. In all my creative endeavors, I adapt this interdisciplinary approach, pursuing my diverse interests with in-depth research.

I am an outstandingly self-motivated and enthusiastic individual, who adapts easily to new environments, enjoys working with equally motivated creatives, and is eager to learn. From past experiences, I have come to value effective teamwork, customer relations, and cultural sensitivity above all else.

Specialities: Japanese language, literature, film, culture, etc. Cultural Sensitivity. Screenwriting, storyboarding, creative writing, illustration, graphic novels, etc.

Copyright 2012 by G. E. Gallas

About gegallas

G. E. Gallas is a screenwriter and graphic novelist (writer/illustrator) best known for "The Poet and the Flea," a fantastical reimagining of the life of the poet-painter William Blake. Originally from Washington D.C., she spent her year abroad in Tokyo, Japan and graduated from New York University: Gallatin School of Individualzed Study with a major involving cross-cultural storytelling. Spring 2013, she attended the Cannes International Film Festival and spoke upon invitation to The Blake Society, London. February 2014, her illustrations will be featured in the young adult title "Scared Stiff: Everything You Need To Know About 50 Famous Phobias." View all posts by gegallas

10 responses to “Introduction

  • photos and vibes by Deni

    Hi Gegallas, I believe you’ve got one of the most inspiring blogs and nominated you for the Liebster Award! Denise

  • laurabennet

    Thanks so much for checking out my blog. I’m glad you liked my post about writing. I wish you all the best on your graphic novel! This may seem crazy, but I’m intrigued by your Jewish/Atheism…is your family Jewish? Please don’t feel like you have to answer that if you feel it is too personal. :)

    • gegallas

      Thanks you for your well wishes! I don’t mind talking about my Jewish atheism. :) Yes, both sides of my family are Jewish! My mother’s side = German/Polish Jews and my father’s side = Russian Jews. I actually talked about my Jewish atheism in another comment, but in case you didn’t see it, I’ll repost it here:

      Jewish atheism is actually not an uncommon occurrence. Just take Albert Einstein, Karl Marx, or Sigmund Freud!

      According to Wikipedia, “Jewish atheism refers to atheism as practiced by people who are ethnically, and to some extent culturally, Jewish.”

      I think this definition is pretty accurate. I personally identify ethnically and culturally as a Jewish American. I use Yiddish expressions, love my Bubbie, and believe that my Jewish heritage/history is important. But I’m not at all religious or spiritual, and believe strongly in science, logic, knowledge, education, and common sense.

      I hope that gives you a better idea!

      Best regards, G. E.

      • laurabennet

        Yes, that is so helpful. I really haven’t had much experience in this realm so it truly is interesting to me. I’ve just started reading a book called “Sitting at the Feet of Rabbi Jesus” by Lois Tverberg and Ann Spangler and I’m finding the history of the Jewish culture very interesting. Many things I have taken for granted that I thought I understood, but am finding myself pretty ignorant in many areas.
        I’m learning to not be religious and believe as well in all you have listed. Thank you so much for sharing! Laura

      • gegallas

        Glad to help! Sounds like an interesting book. There’s always more to learn. :) I actually admire those who have a real faith in religion, but I’m just too cynical and pessimistic to be at all spiritual myself ha ha ha. Nice chatting with you! –G. E.

  • lostandfoundbooks

    Visiting your blog gave me a boost of much-needed energy! I will enjoy “following”. (and thanks for visiting my blog too!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,546 other followers

