A Bit More About Me

I thought that perhaps readers might want to learn a bit more about me. So I took the time to write this!

P.S. I took these questions from an internet meme… I’m not sure where they originate from, but I give full credit to whoever created them (although I edited them a little bit). Thanks!

***

If you could build a second house anywhere, where would it be?

I really wouldn’t want to own or build a second house — one house is more than enough for me. But, if I could, I would love to live for a period somewhere Scandinavian. Copenhagen? Stockholm? Or maybe even in Belgium, like Antwerp. I also really need to visit England to do some William Blake research for my graphic novel The Poet and the Flea. I’ve already lived in Manhattan and Tokyo, and I hope I can return there in the future. Also, I really must visit Barcelona to see my beloved friend Elena!!

What are your favorite articles of clothing?

Umm, this is a tough question. I admire fashion as an art form, but I have a hard time finding clothes for myself. I guess a more-or-less constant staple of my wardrobe are Vans shoes. Usually quirky ones with multi-colored checkers. Right now, I have a pair with cherries, another silvery pair, and another with blue and pink hearts from St. Valentine’s Day. Also, I’ve been wearing my Vivienne Westwood orb locket for about five years now.

The Last CDs You Bought?

“The Black Belles” by The Black Belles and all of Heavenstamp‘s EPs.

What is your favorite kitchen appliance?

I practically lived off toast my final semester of college. And I’m loving all the sourdough bread in San Francisco. So I’m going to go with “toaster.”

If you could play an instrument, what would it be?

I actually used to play cello — started when I was four years old and stopped after about twelve years. I never really enjoyed playing, but the experience definitely taught me to appreciate music of all kinds. Playing the whimsical Bohemian pieces of David Popper always brought me the most joy. If I had the patience for another instrument, I might learn the piano just so that I could play Igor Stravinsky and Franz Liszt. Or, if I had been born a man, I’d like to be a bass opera singer like Samuel Ramey.

Favorite color?

Since childhood, I’ve always favored blue. But nowadays everyone would accuse me of being passionate about the color black.

Which vehicle do you prefer, sports car, motorcycle, or SUV?

Vespa. Absolutely.

Do you believe in the afterlife?

You do realize you’re asking a Jewish Atheist?

Favorite children’s book?

Not exactly children’s books per se, but I always read the works of Edward Gorey as a child. I remember being upset when he died back in 2000 (I must have been about 11 years old). Once The Poet and the Flea is up online, anyone familiar with Gorey’s work will probably be able to tell how much he has influenced my own style.

What is your favorite season?

Fall, especially October. My birthday is October 19. And there are lot’s of other awesome birthdays (Oct. 1st, Laurence Harvey’s; Oct 2nd, my mom’s; Oct 3rd, Tetsuya’s [L'Arc~en~ciel]; Oct. 4th, Jeremy Blake’s, etcetera.). Plus, I’ve always enjoyed Halloween. The only downside is what follows: winter. I love the cold, but I can’t stand the holiday season. As Raymond Shaw (Laurence Harvey in The Manchurian Candidate, 1962) says: “Twelve days of Christmas? One day of Christmas is loathsome enough!”

If you have a tattoo, what is it?

Not only would I be disowned if I got a tattoo, but more significantly I am 100% certain I would be allergic to not only the ink but also the needle used in tattooing (I have extremely sensitive skin and a serious metal allergy… not long ago, I tried on a metal bracelet and felt it immediately burning my skin!). But I have a lot of interest and respect for tattoos in various cultures (Maori, etc.). I mean, Eastern Promises (2007) is up there on my favorite movie list!

If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

To learn every nuance of every language, and keep them all in my head.

Can you juggle?

I used to have one of those Klutz juggling books… but no.

What is under your bed?

Currently, a gigantic blue portfolio box full of valuable fine art collected by my Opah (grandfather) when he was alive. I’m talking about Reginald Marsh, Philippe Halsman, and the likes.

Which do you prefer, sushi or hamburger?

You do realize you’re asking someone who lived in Tokyo for a year? Sushi, clearly. Especially the kaiten (conveyor belt) variety.

What is your dream job?

From a very young age, my dream has always been to become a comic book artist. For the past few years, I’ve dreamed of becoming a screenwriter. Now, I’m trying to make both come true.

What age do you plan to retire?

Never.

Something you would like to do that you have never done before?

Attend a film festival… especially one screening a film I wrote. I think this will happen sooner than I expect.

***

Desert Island Movies (à la Stage32.com)

“What if you could only watch the same 10 films… forever?”

  1. The Manchurian Candidate (1962)
  2. In Bruges (2008)
  3. Gemini/Souseiji (1999)
  4. The Constant Gardener (2005)
  5. The Brothers Bloom (2008)
  6. The Darjeeling Limited (2007)
  7. Mystery Men (1999)
  8. The Fall (2006)
  9. Adam’s Apples/Adams æbler (2005)
  10. Topsy-Turvey (1999)

***

For more updates, don’t forget to follow me on tumblr and/or twitter.

***

Copyright 2012 by G. E. Gallas

About gegallas

G. E. Gallas is a screenwriter and graphic novelist (writer/illustrator) best known for "The Poet and the Flea," a fantastical reimagining of the life of the poet-painter William Blake. Originally from Washington D.C., she spent her year abroad in Tokyo, Japan and graduated from New York University: Gallatin School of Individualzed Study with a major involving cross-cultural storytelling. Spring 2013, she attended the Cannes International Film Festival and spoke upon invitation to The Blake Society, London. February 2014, her illustrations will be featured in the young adult title "Scared Stiff: Everything You Need To Know About 50 Famous Phobias." View all posts by gegallas

101 responses to “A Bit More About Me

  • richardblount

    I am very curious. What is your definition of a Jewish Atheist?

    Richard

    • gegallas

      Richard:

      Thanks for asking.

      Jewish atheism is actually not an uncommon occurrence. Just take Albert Einstein, Karl Marx, or Sigmund Freud!

      According to Wikipedia, “Jewish atheism refers to atheism as practiced by people who are ethnically, and to some extent culturally, Jewish.”

      I think this definition is pretty accurate. I personally identify ethnically and culturally as a Jewish American. I use Yiddish expressions, love my Bubbie, and believe that my Jewish heritage/history is important. But I’m not at all religious or spiritual, and believe strongly in science, logic, knowledge, education, and common sense.

      I hope this answers your question!

      –G. E.

      • richardblount

        That’s interesting. I am a Southerner (by the grace of God) which definitely falls under a cultural persuasion. I also think science, logic, knowledge, education, and common sense are extremely important. I also believe very strongly in God, and that all of these other interests inform my belief. I think it is an interesting irony. With that I am not going to try and convince you of anything. I just wanted to note the irony. Thank you so much for sharing, and thank you for following my blog.

        In His Peace,
        Richard

  • Børge

    Nice to know more about you :) You should definitely come to Scandinavia and live here for a while! Don’t go to Sweden though, Norway is much better ;)

  • janicefried

    Thanks for liking my blog….I enjoyed reading your Q&A above…I too am a Jewish atheist and I thank you for defining it so perfectly. Actually, I never knew there was an actual term for it so thanks for that too!
    I also am fond of Laurence Harvey so good luck with your screenplay and good luck with your graphic novel about William Blake….both very worthy subjects!

    • gegallas

      Thanks for stopping by, and for your interest in my projects! As I mentioned before, Jewish atheism is relatively commonplace. There is actually Christian atheism as well — I guess it’s really all about morals rather than faith. Judaism has such a vibrant culture and long history that I don’t find it strange that we as atheists still identify with our Jewish heritage. Many people don’t realize that Laurence Harvey was Jewish. I don’t think he was a practicing Jew, but his first language was Yiddish and (although he was never a British nor an American citizen) he seemed to be somewhat liberal in his political views. That’s why he avoided political discussions with his conservative friend John Wayne. Wow, sorry if I’m rambling! Anyway, thanks again! –G. E.

  • LeTalib

    Nice knowing you…Is the klutz juggling book, real fail?? I mean I can easily juggle with only two objects, but that’s no real juggling right…haha…and you mentioned Darjeeling Limited, I went to Darjeeling few months back and it was soooo unlike Mr Anderson’s Darjeeling, but cool movie…looking forward to read cool posts here :)

    • gegallas

      Nice knowing you too! Yeah, I don’t have the eye-hand coordination for juggling. I’m not surprised about Darjeeling… Wes Anderson creates fantastical worlds that just don’t exist in real life, but that’s part of the joy in watching his films!! I hope you had a wonderful time in Darjeeling though. :) It looks like you have some really interesting stuff going on on your blog — I can’t wait to read more! Best, G. E.

  • LeTalib

    seriously this eye-hand coordination thing depresses me sometimes but anyways…yes I had a great time in Darjeeling but I had my Wes Anderson Lens installed in my eyes which kind of raised the bar of expectations but its a great place to chill…and thanks for your kind words that you think that ‘interesting stuff is going on in my blog’, I am just doing random scribbling..but thanks again for reading… My wishes… A. :)

  • claude

    Thanks for electing to follow my blog.

  • magpieofkawaii

    Thanks for following my blog! Hope you had a happy birthday. I’m a Libran, too (October 10) :)

  • Karyn Huenemann

    Oh, I do like your chosen superpower! Thanks for following my blog; I am setting my young girl (13 and seemingly like you in a lot of attitudes, if not maturity) to read yours as well!

    • gegallas

      Thanks! I’m always looking for more books to read, so I’m excited to follow your blog. :) I hope that you (and hopefully your daughter) will enjoy mine! Best regards, G. E.

  • ritalovestowrite

    Hello gegalla!
    Thanks so much for following ritaLOVEStoWRITE. I enjoyed reading your extended “About” section. A question and a comment…

    Question… On the Tattoo issue; if you are allergic to metal do you have a MedicAlert bracelet to let Emergency Responders KNOW you are allergic to metal? …

    Comment… liked your Desert Island Movie list and loved the ones I’ve seen.

    The Manchurian Candidate (1962)
    The Brothers Bloom (2008)
    The Darjeeling Limited (2007)
    Topsy-Turvey (1999)

    The Brothers Bloom came across my Netflix feed as a recommendation and it was a real surprise. It isn’t for everyone, but it is an amazing movie and EVERYONE I have recommended it to has absolutely loved it as much as I have. So I’m glad you’ve found it it too.

    And Manchurian Candidate — That’s a “no flip” movie in my house. (If it happens to be on TCM or another channel and some one is “surfing” they are not allowed to flip through that one.

    Oh dear, that was long…OK Gotta write my blog now.
    Cheers, Rita

    • gegallas

      Hey Rita:

      Thanks for stopping by, and for your message! You have a great blog, and I’m looking forward to catching up on all your posts.

      Huh, I’ve never thought of a MedicAlert bracelet for my metal allergy … I should probably look into that, ha ha ha!

      Sounds like we have similar taste in movies! Yes, “Brother’s Bloom” isn’t for everyone, but I find it has this irresistible charm. Plus, I never ever ever cry at movies, but I was definitely teary at the end of this one!

      I think my family has the same “no flip” rule for “Manchurian Candidate”!! It’s just so brilliant on so many different levels, and I feel like I always notice somethimng new on every viewing.

      Best regards,

      G. E.

  • DaVida Nature Photography

    Gegallas,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and following. I look forward to following yours as well. Have a great weekend!

  • artinstructor

    I thought the question and answer idea was entertaining and it did feel as if I was talking to you or at least watching a reality or talk show. Interesting answers.

    I agree that we don’t walk away from our culture. We can choose to think differently and still Identity with the group we came from. I teach a variety of people and struggle with stereo-type – pushing it back to its rightful place; the distant reaches of my mind. It is a good exercise to focus on the individual as an unknown. Identifying strongly with a group seems to diminish a lot of people and allows them sanctuary from ownership of action and deed.

    A graphic novel is a big accomplishment. Keep on working!
    All the best.

    • gegallas

      Thank you so much for your comment, especially about identity and culture. Indeed, stereotypes are a very tricky thing. In college, I took a class called “Yellow Peril” about Asian and Arab stereotypes and xenophobia. One topic we talked about in that class is the notion of “racist hate” and “racist love” — that “positive” stereotypes (like “Asians are good at math”) are still hurtful. This is something I think of often. Sorry if that was a bit of a tangent! Anyway, thanks again! Best, G. E.

  • clinock

    G. I am honoured by your visit and follow at art rat cafe, thank you. I have yet to explore your blog but your ‘About’ reflects a fascinating person so I will be taking a deeper peek tonight …

  • Bosartis

    Hi and thanks for stopping to “Like” my Art blog – appreciated. Jewish Atheism sounds like so called Christian Atheism which is probably my own classification – brought up culturally as but unable to accept any of it. Used to play classical and jazz piano, but unable to these days and I miss it terribly – the pc keyboard is a challenge today. Like your blog and your style (of life) – good to read.

  • Mary

    Hello G.E. – thank you for visiting my blog. I enjoyed reading yours, and I’m looking forward to reading more. It’s nice to meet you!

    • gegallas

      Hey Mary: Thanks for following back and for checking out my blog! Your illustrations are delightful, and I’m excited to see more! Nice to meet you too :) Best regards, G. E.

  • Tracey-Lynne

    Hi G.E. Thanks for following my blog. I too love the film In Bruges ;-)

    Best
    Tracey

    • gegallas

      Hey Tracey: Thanks for stopping by, and for the likes! I think you have some beautiful photos on your blog. :) Yay, a fellow “In Bruges” fan — I quote that movie way more than I should ha ha ha. Best regards, G. E.

  • JessicaPi

    Have you read “Signal to Noise” by Neil Gaiman? It’s a graphic novel about a screenwriter and one of my favorites because it is so beautifully written and illustrated. Check it out, if you get a chance. (I think I had to order mine from England, but that was back before Amazon.)

    • gegallas

      Jessica: Thanks for stopping by, and for the recommendation! I’ve read a number of Neil Gaiman graphic novels, but not that one so I’ll check it out. :) As a fellow storyteller, I’m excited to follow your blog! Best regards, G. E.

  • N. L. Armitage

    はじめまして!Thank you for following my blog! Very cool to meet someone else who has lived in Japan. Four and a half years and maybe about to go back and make it longer! (I actually got my first and only tattoo so far while in Japan.) On you being Jewish Atheist, I think that it is interesting. I have respect for people’s right to choose if they believe or not, and I think that it is better to choose than to be indifferent. Respect for a person’s choice is paramount to me, so whatever my own beliefs, I like to extend that respect and receive it in turn. :)
    I am always on the lookout for more great music to listen to, so I will check out The Black Belles. I will also be checking out your blog!
    P.S. Sushi is too awesome (ebi & maguro all day), and fall is my favorite season too.

    • gegallas

      あっ、はじめまして!Thanks for stopping by and for following back! Wow, four and a half years in Japan — where did you live? I agree with all you say about respecting people’s right to choose, so thank you so much for that! If you like Jack White, then you’ll probably like The Black Belles — I think they’re a lot of fun! Nice to know someone with similar thoughts and tastes. :) Keep in touch! Best regards, G. E.

      • N. L. Armitage

        Hello again! So sorry for the much-delayed response! I’ve been very busy with things. Thank you for replying! :) I’ve lived in a few different places, but all in the Kanto area; I’ve lived in Koshigaya & Kawaguchi (the latter when I attended language school for a few months), in Ichikawa, Chiba, and in Tokyo. I’m actually going back there next week.
        I’ve heard a lot about Jack White. Agreed about The Black Belles being fun. :)

      • gegallas

        Wow, sounds like you’ve really been all over Japan (or at least Kanto). :) I hope you have a wonderful time starting next week and overcome the jet lag quickly, ha ha ha. Best, G. E.

  • hannalietaute

    are there any other insects besides fleas that interest you? I just read that a flea van live for up to 4months without food, and that the female can only start laying eggs when she has had something to eat. i am looking forward to read some more about the “Poet and the flea”!

    • gegallas

      Thanks for sharing those interesting facts about fleas! :) As a kid, I was in love with ancient Egypt, so I’ve always been fond of scarabs and other beetles. Everyone thinks I’m crazy for finding beetles, bats, and snakes adorable ha ha ha. Best regards, G. E.

  • kanzensakura

    Thank you so much for stopping by, liking AND following, no less. I like your blog too and elected to follow. Very interesting and I think a lot of potential for fun and mischief here. I might steal those seven questions and post on my blog with my own answers. I like them. I like your list of movies as well. I’m looking forward to getting to know you better. In the fridge on my blog, I always keep lots of different noshies. Please feel free to come by and visit often. You’ll find other bloggers there around the nishikigoi pond, in the garden…just camping out. They bring their cats, dogs, children, imaginary friends but always tidy up after themselves.

    • gegallas

      No problem, you have a wonderful blog. :) Thanks for following back and for your comment! I hope to be as mischievous as possible ha ha ha. Yes, please take these questions (although I’m still not really sure where they came from). Nishikigoi pond sounds magical! Best regards, G. E.

  • artzent

    I like your non religious leanings and of course you are an artist so you cannot retire. It’s the law! I visited Japan and loved it and also lived in San Francisco for years. Love that too!
    Thank you for your recent like on my blog and the follow. You are someone that I want and will follow!

    • gegallas

      Thanks for following back and for your kind words! As much as I love Japan, I think San Francisco is really growing on me. :) Your blog is full of life and I’m very much looking forward to following you. Best regards, G. E.

  • Virgilio Gavia

    very interesting bio. and thanks for the visit.

  • Reader Appreciation Award! « G. E. Gallas

    [...] covered in my post “A Bit More About Me“: Since childhood, I’ve always favored blue. But nowadays everyone would accuse me of [...]

  • Mr. Wapojif

    Kudos on the sushi, madam, ’tis but a glory to behold! I’m a keen environmentalist, though, so the sushi consumption forever makes me fear for my sanity as it brings about paradoxical dismay. In an existential sense. Ja, I’m an atheist, too. I don’t believe in logic, though. Carrots are my guardians!

    Good film selection. I can recommend to you a British cult film called “Withnail and I”. If you’ve not seen it do so immediately! That’s not a suggestion. It’s an order, comrade! Being an artsy sort you should also like the Australian claymaytion flick Mary and Max. Give it a twirl!

    http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/1209767-mary_and_max/

    Peace and vegetables,

    Mr. Wapojif. x

    • gegallas

      Sometimes I feel that sushi and atheism go so well together, ha ha ha. I believe in logic, but thoroughly enjoy the surreal, abstract, and absurd. :) I’m not sure how I feel about carrots though.

      Thanks for the recommendation! I’ve actually been meaning to see “Withnail and I” because of my love for The Eight Doctor (yay for cheesy 90s made-for-TV movies). Now, I will definitely check it out! :D I’ve hard of “Mary and Max,” but have yet to see it — so that will go on the “must-see” list too.

      Happy New Year!

      G. E.

  • MikesFilmTalk

    Hey! Thanks for stopping by and following my little blog! I’ve returned the favour as anyone who likes The Fall well enough to include it on a list of films to watch forever is a kindred spirit. Cheers mate! :-D

    • gegallas

      Thanks for following back and for all the likes! Yes, “The Fall” is one of those brilliant but underrated films, don’t you think? I hope you’re enjoying “The Poet and the Flea” so far. :) And I look forward to following your great reviews! Best regards, G. E.

  • doodlinggal

    Good answers! Thanks for visiting my blog and following!

  • quo1

    If I wasn’t already married and old, I’d marry and grow old with you.

    • gegallas

      Ha ha ha, a nice sentiment to read on Valentine’s Day. Just don’t make my boyfriend jealous! Your blog makes me smile. :) Best regards, G. E.

      • quo1

        Your boyfriend couldn’t possibly get as jealous as my wife. She hates it when I propose to other people. Thanks for smiling at my blog. I hope it keeps doing that to people. You are doing awesome work, by the way. I look forward to seeing how things unfold for you. Peace!

      • quo1

        Your boyfriend couldn’t possibly get as jealous as my wife. She hates it when I propose to other people. Thanks for smiling at my blog. I hope it keeps doing that for people. You’re creating great stuff, by the way. I look forward to seeing how things unfold for you. Peace.

  • Lahary Pittman

    Hi – And thank you so much for your recent likes of my line drawings. I love your work! Also I like that you like Belgium..esp Bruges! I did a whole B&W film photography series of Bruges and found it to be “the place to live” if I were to relocate from NY to Europe..and San Fran will always hold a special place on my Fave American cities. Ciao … :-D

    • gegallas

      Thank you for your kind words!! No problem — your drawings are absolutely fascinating!! :D

      Your photos of Bruges sound amazing. I’d love to go there someday.

      Where are you in NY? I spent a few years in Manhattan for college.

      Yes, SF is indeed a special place!

      Best regards,

      G. E.

  • suecooart

    Thanks for following me. I love your question and answer section in ‘About’….I haven’t seen one of your films!

  • thurstanbassett

    So nice to see you around again. Kind regards. Thurstan

  • daisybellcrafts

    I adore Gorey’s work. Thank you for liking my post :)

  • Michael G

    You chose the best superpower imaginable. I would have never thought of it. I salute you.

    Also, I adore questionnaires, so I loved reading this.

  • jackiemayerr

    May I use this questionnaire on my blog? Or perhaps point me in the direction of pre-generated ones? I think this is a fabulous idea, and c’mon, who doesn’t love them!

    Very nice to get to know you, and I look forward to future posts. :)

  • irenedesign2011

    You have a very interesting blog here, continue with your great ideas.
    Thanks for your visit, like and following at my blog.
    Have a wonderful day,
    Irene

  • riemkeworks

    Thank you for following! You are definitely one of the most interesting bloggers I’ve seen around!

  • treemina

    Goodness you sound fascinating from what I’ve read about you. Thanks for taking an interest in my page, I definitely want to read more of what you have to share!!

  • Neil Dalanon

    Hello! Thanks for dropping by my site. Literature and graphic design are among my interests, too. Your blog is interesting. I was entertained and learned new stuff just by reading your About Me page. :)

  • Rhonda Sittig

    Great to come across your bright, insightful blog. And welcome to SF– our kids live there so we show up often. Intriguing place.

  • Zoe Dune

    Thank you for your interest Gegalla. Like the blog and your work!

  • leesaichyfeetnmouth

    cool ! you are awesome ! Thanks for liking my post, i linked yours and likewise, pls link me :) http://leesaichyfeetnmouth.wordpress.com/

  • cervifrank

    Thanks for stopping by and reading some of my posts/reviews. I have enjoyed reading over a little bit about you as a person and I am intrigued. I liked your answer about the idea of retirement in particular. The path you are pursuing seems to be one of which I too would not want to retire from. I look forward to reading more of your blog and posts!

  • Green Embers

    Love the cello, I played violin but wish it had been cello. I have no ear for music sadly.

    • gegallas

      Oh, cool! I think one needs not only an ear, but also infinite patience for playing an instrument. I think I had the ear, but not the patience! However, I DO have infinite patience for writing and illustrating. :) –G. E.

  • Mary Strong-Spaid

    Nice to meet you!
    And happy birthday….about a week ago.
    I hope you had a great day!

  • bettysbrownies

    A belated thank you for following my blog. I’m looking forward to more musings. Cheers!

  • restlessjo

    Nice to meet you and very many thanks for the follow :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,440 other followers

