“Who is Laurence Harvey?”: Research

Over the course of researching and writing my first full-length screenplay entitled Who is Laurence Harvey? (about the forgotten international film star Laurence Harvey [1928 - 1973]), I developed a bit of a hobby.

“What hobby?” you ask.

Collecting every single last image of Laurence Harvey I can find on the internet, that’s what!!

I currently have over 450 images saved in my Laurence Harvey folder.

Here, I thought I’d share some of my favorite images. These are the images that I hope will one day influence the production/design of this film.

Disclaimer: I do not own any of these images!!

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Autographed photo of Laurence Harvey

Laurence Harvey as Romeo (1954)

Laurence Harvey in “Room at the Top” (1959)

Laurence Harvey in “The Alamo” (1960)

Laurence Harvey and Elizabeth Taylor in “BUtterfield 8″ (1960)

Laurence Harvey in “The Long and The Short and The Tall” (1961)

Laurence Harvey at home.

Laurence Harvey in “The Manchurian Candidate” (1962)

Laurence Harvey and France Nuyen in “A Girl Named Tamiko” (1962)

Laurence Harvey and Sarah Miles in “The Ceremony” (1963)

Laurence Harvey in “Life at the Top” (1965)

Laurence Harvey at the Oscars.

Laurence Harvey and Elizabeth Taylor on the set of “Night Watch” (1973)

For more information about Who is Laurence Harvey?, check out this post. Or visit my homepage.

***

For more updates, don’t forget to follow me on tumblr and/or twitter.

***

Copyright 2012 by G. E. Gallas

About gegallas

G. E. Gallas is a screenwriter and graphic novelist (writer/illustrator) best known for "The Poet and the Flea," a fantastical reimagining of the life of the poet-painter William Blake. Originally from Washington D.C., she spent her year abroad in Tokyo, Japan and graduated from New York University: Gallatin School of Individualzed Study with a major involving cross-cultural storytelling. Spring 2013, she attended the Cannes International Film Festival and spoke upon invitation to The Blake Society, London. February 2014, her illustrations will be featured in the young adult title "Scared Stiff: Everything You Need To Know About 50 Famous Phobias." View all posts by gegallas

16 responses to ““Who is Laurence Harvey?”: Research

  • vincedorse

    Laurence Harvey was fantastic in The Manchurian Candidate as well as a particularly creepy episode of The Night Gallery titled The Caterpillar that involved earwigs burrowing into people’s brains. Yeesh!

    • gegallas

      “The Manchurian Candidate” is actually one of my all time favorite films. I can watch it over and over again, and never get bored. I find it very difficult to watch “The Caterpillar,” not because I find it scary, but because Larry was very sick at the time (stomach cancer) and went off his painkillers to enhance his performance. The poor man… Anyway, thanks for your comment! –G.E.

  • burgessart

    Good choice and good luck with it. Thanks for dropping by the Chateau. Best wishes, Robert

    • gegallas

      Thanks, and likewise! I actually completed this screenplay last year, and I’ve been entering it in various contests. Now all that’s left to do is send out all those inquiry letters to production companies. We’ll see how it goes!! Best regards, G. E.

  • kswann

    Great actor! Probably a totally stupid question, but have you read Sammy Davis, Jr.’s “Hollywood in a Suitcase”? I read in it seventh grade (not as part of the curriculum) and was real into The Manchurian Candidate at the time, and Davis’s description of him towards the end of the book made me like him even more, which even if you haven’t read I’m sure you don’t need to because of all the research you have done, but that’s how I know about him, besides his films. Good luck with the screenplay!

    • gegallas

      Yay, another Laurence Harvey/Manchurian Candidate fan!! I actually haven’t read “Hollywood in a Suitcase,” but am always itching for more information on Larry, so thank you so much for the suggestion. Have you ever seen “The Long and the Short and the Tall” (1961)? That film seems right up your alley! Best regards, G. E.

      • kswann

        Oooh, I hadn’t ever heard of that one, thanks so much! I checked it out and it looks great, I’m going to watch it. And if you do happen to find that book let me know and I’ll let you know what page he starts talking about him, because it’s later in the book.

  • Laura Quick

    I don’t know how much of a fan you are but I often buy original old movie posters through eBay and there are plenty of Monsieur Harvey there at very affordable prices.

  • Jo Dunn

    Good Luck with the screenplay

  • Gregory

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my site so i came to “return the favor”.I’m
    attempting to find things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use
    a few of your ideas!!

  • renato hemesath

    Oh GOD! I never had been imagine found some pics from him like that! Specially, that the 7th (top to under) >> He’s gorgeous in yellow robe! I’m crazy about him too, but I still watched a little movies from him. “Life at the top” and “Of human bondage” are my favorites.

    Thanks for sharing, and good lucky about collection.

    (Some years ago I had the same hobby >>> search for pictures on internet about Robert Redford. I love him still, but stopped with this)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,535 other followers

