Zines and Me!

Rough sketch for zine idea.

As I mentioned before (here), I’ve only recently become interested in the world of zines. Not only do zines appear to be an incredibly flexible channel for creativity, but I think that this medium would be a great compliment to my graphic novels and children’s books. I like the idea of the zine being very hands on — a real artist book, the artist not only illustrating, but also cutting and pasting the finished pamphlet together. This process reminds me greatly of Andy Warhol, his factory, and 25 Cats Name Sam and One Blue Pussy.

Before I begin any zines of my own, I’ve been trying to get a better sense of their mercurial world. At APE (Alternative Press Expo) 2012, I talked with Tugboat Press, who produce annual free comics and an anthology called Papercutter. Tugboat led me to Parcell Press, who seems to carry a vast array of zines, comics, etc. I also found “How to Make a Zine” on Rookie. I guess the one true rule of creating zines is that there are no rules!

As I ponder the pre-existing zine world, my own ideas for zines just keep pouring out of me. I scribble these ideas down furiously in a Gallatin notebook I received upon graduation and was saving for something important (who knew that important something was zines). Endless ideas — everything from opera parodies to The Death of Chatterton. I’m not sure when I’ll actually have time to realize these zines since I’m already working on so many projects that need to get done (The Poet and the Flea, The First Reich, etcetera, etcetera). I’m hoping to take a stab early next year, June at the latest. We’ll see how that works out…

Some useful zine-related websites I’ve discovered:

Plus, I figure if I make enough zines, then eventually I can release them all in one book.

Any comments, suggestions, or thoughts would be truly appreciated!

***

For more updates, don’t forget to follow me on tumblr and/or twitter.

***

Copyright 2012 by G. E. Gallas

About gegallas

G. E. Gallas is a screenwriter and graphic novelist (writer/illustrator) best known for "The Poet and the Flea," a fantastical reimagining of the life of the poet-painter William Blake. Originally from Washington D.C., she spent her year abroad in Tokyo, Japan and graduated from New York University: Gallatin School of Individualzed Study with a major involving cross-cultural storytelling. Spring 2013, she attended the Cannes International Film Festival and spoke upon invitation to The Blake Society, London. February 2014, her illustrations will be featured in the young adult title "Scared Stiff: Everything You Need To Know About 50 Famous Phobias." View all posts by gegallas

16 responses to “Zines and Me!

  • supernova

    Thanks G.E., very interesting and useful information. I’m going to look into Zines more myself now, you’ve aroused my curiosity! Take care, SN.

    • gegallas

      No problem — I’m glad you found this interesting and useful! By the way, zines aren’t restricted to just illustrations/comics, but pretty much anything from creative writing/poetry to global issues. So you could definitely make a zine about metal detecting on Blackpool Beach! Best, G. E.

      • supernova

        Yes, that’s what I was thinking, or maybe a zine on metal detecting UK beaches. I have a couple of other idea’s brewing, but just struggling at the moment to get them clear in my head, I’ll let you know though. Regards SN

  • supernova

    In fact G.E. on further looking at this I see that ‘detecting UK beaches’ would be better for another application such as a website. Blackpool beach is another matter though as it’s even more of a niche and more practical to cover? Best wishes SN.

    • gegallas

      The thing about zines is that they themselves are very niche, so I feel that it’s okay to cover niche topics. I think a zine is a good opportunity to teach people about something they’re unfamiliar with. So don’t be afraid to experiment and find a happy medium! Yes, please keep me updated! –G. E.

  • anelephantcant

    AnElephantCant help being totally impressed that you have a plan that stretches further that 7 minutes into the future. June at the latest, wow, that is heading into the realms of science fantasy. Great stuff!

    • gegallas

      Is that because elephants are better at remembering the past than they are looking to the future? :) I figure I might not get around to zines until June because that is the deadline for a screenplay collaboration I’m supposed to start in January. We’ll see how it all plays out! Thanks for stopping by! Best regards, G. E.

  • diane gerrard

    Hi gellas
    I find your site(s) really interesting and admire the energy you put into it. I wish you every success with the Blake research, and the zine research was new info for me.

    You stopped by my blog in October, thanks for doing so and my apologies for this late acknowledgement.

    • gegallas

      Hey Diane: Thanks for stopping by, and for your encouragement! I’m very much enjoying your sketches, and am excited to follow your blog. Please come back in a couple weeks to check out the premiere of “The Poet and the Flea” (November 28th). :) Best regards, G. E.

  • hannalietaute

    thank you for the info! the first time i heard about the wonderful world of zines was from the site: http://www.doodlersanonymous.com – now it seems to pop up everywhere- i also want to try it out, but it seems at this stage overwhelming- looking forward to yours!

    • gegallas

      No problem! Thanks for the interesting link! Yes, zines do seem to pop up everywhere now. :) Yes, zines can be a lot of work, but I’m thinking of starting out small (maybe a 5-page zine) and building up from there. Best regards, G. E.

  • lunajoonok

    I’m a huge zine fan…and in fact used to publish one called “The Taboo Press” (dubbed a “zine for artists, writers, poets, designers and other degenerates”) when I lived in Seattle. I’m hoping to start it up again soon…need to find some artists, writers, poets, designers and other degenerates for submissions, though. :)

    • gegallas

      Awesome!! I think it would be wonderful if you could start up “The Taboo Press” again — I’d love to hear more about it. :) I’m sure there are plenty of degenerates on WordPress who would love to contribute. Best, G. E.

  • shiftyroguellama

    Howdy!- Thanks for following my work- I’m just starting out, so it means a lot :D

    Very much enjoyed the zine post- inspiring, makes me wanna grab a pen and paper right now!

    Kate

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,262 other followers

