New Year’s Resolutions, Anyone?

IMG_4674

2012, My First Year in San Francisco!

I don’t usually do this “New Year’s resolution” thing. But I have so many short-term and long-term goals, I thought this would be a good way to organize my brain.

I’m not sure exactly how long it will take to complete this goal list, but I’m hoping to accomplish a good chunk within the coming months.

But, before that, I’d also like to make a list of my recent accomplishments. Often, I feel like nothing is moving forward, so hopefully this list will remind me that my hard work is paying off.

***

Achievements of 2012

  1. Have been working incredibly hard on my new online graphic novel The Poet and the Flea.
  2. Have taken part in some wonderful collaborations and look forward to continuing/completing them: The First Reich and Elias & The City of Cats.
  3. Entered several screenplays into a variety of competitions and have received a great deal of positive feedback (see résumé).
  4. Nominated for a number of blog awards — Reader Appreciation Award, Very Inspiring Blogger Award (twice), Blog of the Year 2012 Award, Liebster Award, and Beautiful Blogger Award.
  5. Accepted into The American Pavilion 2013 Cannes Film Program!!!
  6. Plus, I now have an awesome boyfriend. (◕‿◕✿) 

***

Goals for 2013

  1. Complete materials for Elias & The City of Cats (hopefully before the end of January) and send out to publishers.
  2. Finish first 10 pages of The First Reich and get them up online.
  3. Begin working with Masa and Gabe on full-length screenplay collaboration The Blanks (working title), to be finished before June 2013.
  4. Send out inquiry letters about my completed full-length screenplays to production companies.
  5. Finish the script for The Poet and the Fleahopefully somewhere between 60 – 75 pages.
  6. Work on my first zine (possibly a tie in with The Flea) and self-print it.
  7. Open up a Storenvy account to sell zines and other merchandise (prints, t-shirts, etc.).
  8. Work on the next 10 illustrated pages of The Poet and the FleaThen the next 10, and so on and so forth!!
  9. Find a reliable and talented director and/or producer to turn one of my short scripts into a short film. Then enter the short film into a number of festivals.
  10. Finally get an official internship, fellowship, and/or job in a field of interest.

Wish me luck!!

***

For more updates, don’t forget to follow me on tumblr and/or twitter.

***

Copyright 2012 by G. E. Gallas

About gegallas

G. E. Gallas is a screenwriter and graphic novelist (writer/illustrator) best known for "The Poet and the Flea," a fantastical reimagining of the life of the poet-painter William Blake. Originally from Washington D.C., she spent her year abroad in Tokyo, Japan and graduated from New York University: Gallatin School of Individualzed Study with a major involving cross-cultural storytelling. Spring 2013, she attended the Cannes International Film Festival and spoke upon invitation to The Blake Society, London. February 2014, her illustrations will be featured in the young adult title "Scared Stiff: Everything You Need To Know About 50 Famous Phobias." View all posts by gegallas

23 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions, Anyone?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,259 other followers

