Cannes/London 2013: Sunday, May 26th

Only-Lovers-Left-Alive-still

Tilda Swinton and Tom Hiddleston in “Only Lovers Left Alive.”
Disclaimer: I do not own this image!!

in-only-lovers-left-alive-001

I think I love this movie for all the wrong reasons…
Disclaimer: I do not own this image!!

Today was my last real day in Cannes and I had a very fun time!

In the early afternoon, I met up with Sarah to see Soderbergh’s Behind the Candelabra, which was great to see on a big screen (since it’s only playing on HBO in the U.S.). I thought Matt Damon and Michael Douglas were very convincing in the roles and the costumes/makeup were amazing!

Afterwards, I went to see Jim Jarmusch’s Only Lovers Left Alive and loved it. I really don’t know if it was supposed to be, but I found the film absolutely hilarious. I mean, there were so many lines/references that made me laugh out loud and I way really the only one in the audience who laughed! I very much enjoyed all the actor’s performances — Tilda Swinton, Tom Hiddleston, John Hurt, Mia Wasikowska, Anton Yelchin, and Jeffery Wright. Also, the cinematography was very clever and the whole feel of the movie was a side of Jarmusch I haven’t seen before. I’d like to see it again once it’s released in the States! :)

Almost done packing. Off to London tomorrow!

***

For more updates, don’t forget to follow me on facebooktumblr and/or twitter.

***

Copyright 2013 by G. E. Gallas

About gegallas

G. E. Gallas is a screenwriter and graphic novelist (writer/illustrator) best known for "The Poet and the Flea," a fantastical reimagining of the life of the poet-painter William Blake. Originally from Washington D.C., she spent her year abroad in Tokyo, Japan and graduated from New York University: Gallatin School of Individualzed Study with a major involving cross-cultural storytelling. Spring 2013, she attended the Cannes International Film Festival and spoke upon invitation to The Blake Society, London. February 2014, her illustrations will be featured in the young adult title "Scared Stiff: Everything You Need To Know About 50 Famous Phobias." View all posts by gegallas

One response to “Cannes/London 2013: Sunday, May 26th

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,921 other followers

