Experience of Smudge Comics Arts Expo 2014

Related Posts: Experience of SPX 2013 and Experience of APE 2013.

***

Smudge was an interesting experience. Firstly, it was held in a very lovely space in the Artisphere. And, because it was only one day (rather than the usual two), it was pretty crowded throughout the whole event. The one thing that drove me crazy though was that they played soundtrack music consisting primarily of Darth Vader’s theme for most of the day for no apparent reason. But overall I met some nice people who I’ll most likely see again at SPX in September and discovered that there’s a lot of interest in Scared Stiff. :)

Smudge 4

Smudge in the Artisphere!

Smudge 1

My table! :)

Smudge 2

My table from an angle!

Smudge 3

From another angle!

***

Please visit my store: thepoetandtheflea.storenvy.com!

For more updates, follow me on facebooktumblr and twitter.

***

Copyright 2014 by G. E. Gallas

About gegallas

G. E. Gallas is a screenwriter and graphic novelist (writer/illustrator) best known for "The Poet and the Flea," a fantastical reimagining of the life of the poet-painter William Blake. Originally from Washington D.C., she spent her year abroad in Tokyo, Japan and graduated from New York University: Gallatin School of Individualzed Study with a major involving cross-cultural storytelling. Spring 2013, she attended the Cannes International Film Festival and spoke upon invitation to The Blake Society, London. February 2014, her illustrations will be featured in the young adult title "Scared Stiff: Everything You Need To Know About 50 Famous Phobias." View all posts by gegallas

7 responses to “Experience of Smudge Comics Arts Expo 2014

  • Mr. Wapojif

    My feck, woman. It all looks fantastic – keep at it. If I was a super rich talent spotter, I’d go for this stall. PLUS, I’d pick up Shia Lee Beef. H’e z a brillaitn thesp. innit

    Whoops, no idea what happened there. Are you on Google+, by the way? How about StumbleUpon? Add yourself, madam, you have skill to promote. Yo. Bling. Innit. Where am I?

    • gegallas

      You are ridiculous, Mr. Wapojif! :)

      My family calls him “The Shy Beef.”

      I really should figure out Google+ and StumbleUpon — I think I have accounts, but I haven’t quite mastered them yet.

  • Mr. Wapojif

    Sorry, I wasn’t being facetious. I only browse such events, but with your stall I would actually stop and go, “Do you speak to English people? Good. You’re not sexist. I also live next to Wales, is this a problem? Excellent, you’re not homophobic. Great, can I buy the doll? 1p isn’t enough? What’s your problem!?!?”

    In all seriousness – it all looks amazing. I’ve written a book and I’ve barely tried to publish it, but I see your work and icy inspiration. My marketing plan is to beat people up in the streets of Manchester.

    • gegallas

      There are still plenty of Fleas to go around, but someone bought one at Smudge to go with his alligator stuffed animals on his office’s green wall (I did not make that up, seriously).

  • Artist Trading Cards: 1-5 | G. E. Gallas

    […] Related Posts: Portfolio, 2014 and Experience of Smudge Comics Arts Expo 2014. […]

  • March 2014 Update | G. E. Gallas

    […] Posts: Experience of Smudge Comics Arts Expo 2014 and Death Is No Bad Friend: NEW […]

  • Experience of DC Zinefest 2014 | G. E. Gallas

    […] Malerich of The 13th Faery, who I met earlier this year at the Smudge Comics Arts Expo, was tabling for the first time. I was very excited to get my hands on a copy of The 13th […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,534 other followers

