The Poet and the Flea

Screen shot 2013-03-03 at 11.24.53 AM

The lovely Hannah Meiklejohn (hannahmeiklejohn.wordpress.com) created this amazing review of The Poet and the Flea + interview of me for Lemonade: Freshly Squeezed Art & Culture Magazine:

www.lemonade-magazine.co.uk/2013/03/g-e-gallas-the-poet-and-the-flea

In the interview, I answer a number of very intriguing questions about The Flea and my interest in William Blake. Hannah really came up with some great questions and it was a pleasure answering them!

Also, the article features a nice array of images from my portfolio in a pleasing arrangement.

So please, please, please check it out!

–G. E.

P.S. Don’t forget to take a look at the new Fan Art page and updated Press page on thepoetandtheflea.wordpress.com!

***

The Poet and the Flea: A new page every Wednesday!

tumblr / twitter / blog.

***

Copyright 2013 by G. E. Gallas

View original post

About gegallas

G. E. Gallas is a writer and illustrator best known for her graphic novel The Poet and the Flea about William Blake and her short film Death Is No Bad Friend about Robert Louis Stevenson. Originally from Washington, D. C., she spent her year abroad in Tokyo, Japan and graduated from New York University: Gallatin School of Individualized Study with a major involving cross-cultural storytelling. Last year, she attended the Cannes International Film Festival and spoke upon invitation to The Blake Society, London. This year, her illustrations were featured in Scared Stiff: Everything You Need To Know About 50 Famous Phobias. She is currently working on illustrations for Do More Good. Better. View all posts by gegallas

2 responses to “

  • MIRROR MIROIR

    I loved the bit: That’s when everything clicked in my head – that Dante, Blake, and Ginsberg are all interconnected. Is not this what they call epiphany? Your book will really do well with so much going for it. Why would you even want a publisher and pay commissions when you have so many followers already?

    I was relieved to hear that you reasonably enjoyed my posts. You appear to be a nice and generous person, I must mind not to abuse it. So, I really want to spare you from my graphic novels business. I’ve just befriended some authors on Facebook and some of them can be so persistent. Ignore my future posts advertising my books, please because I prefer you to stay as my blog tutor. Speaking of which, have you ever tried one of those web traffic service? Have you heard if it worked?

    • gegallas

      Thanks! Yes, it was an epiphany, wasn’t it?

      I understand where you’re coming from as far as publishers go, but there are a number of reasons I’d like The Flea to be picked up by a publisher.

      No problem, I can understand how other authors/illustrators online can sometimes get annoying or frustrating. I’m glad you consider me as your blog tutor. 🙂 No, I’ve never tried a web traffic service. I just like exploring the tags on WordPress to find other artists I admire and sometimes they follow me back!

      Best,

      G. E.

Leave a Reply

