Cannes/London 2013: Sunday, May 19th

Cannes1

Just above the American Pavilion.

Trying desperately to recover from yesterday. Only 4 hours of sleep, but I managed a nap in the early afternoon.

When I took the bus down to the festival, I had a somewhat strange encounter. A French lady forced me to sit next to her and just rambled at me in French the whole ride. I couldn’t understand a word she was saying so I just kept nodding and smiling. When I got to my stop, she grabbed my arm and almost didn’t let me leave, but I managed somehow. Very strange indeed!

I met up with Jesús Santaeularia later in the afternoon for the Fedora screening. He’s really very sweet, enthusiastic, and smart. I hope to continue to keep in touch with him and collaborate with him in the future. We might meet up again during the festival or, if not, I’ll see him in London at the Blake talk.

Fedora was an interesting (bizarre) movie, a sort of companion piece to the brilliant Sunset Blvd. My favorite part was that Michael York played himself. They even had a video interview with Michael York before the movie started and he had some insightful commentary — but I noticed that his face looked puffy and his voice was strained and wondered if he is sick. Turns out, he’s been suffering from a rare blood disorder called amyloidosis. The poor man, so upsetting!

Afterwards, I ran into Lizzie and tried to help her find some tights to buy. We ran around, but all the stores were closing. So we ended up eating some amazing gelato — chestnut flavor for me. 😀

The “Queer Party” at the American Pavilion was tonight, but I was way too tired to go.

Tomorrow seems to be laundry day. Also, I may go see Takashi Miike’s Wara no Tate (Shield of Straw), but I’m not 100% sure. I’m most excited for Wednesday’s Campus MovieFest screening, where I can hopefully meet some fellow young and talented filmmakers. 🙂

fedora-21

Billy Wilder directing Marthe Keller and Michael Yorke in “Fedora.”
Disclaimer: I do not own this image!!

***

For more updates, don’t forget to follow me on facebooktumblr and/or twitter.

***

Copyright 2013 by G. E. Gallas

About gegallas

G. E. Gallas is a writer and illustrator best known for her graphic novel The Poet and the Flea about William Blake and her short film Death Is No Bad Friend about Robert Louis Stevenson. Originally from Washington, D. C., she spent her year abroad in Tokyo, Japan and graduated from New York University: Gallatin School of Individualized Study with a major involving cross-cultural storytelling. Last year, she attended the Cannes International Film Festival and spoke upon invitation to The Blake Society, London. This year, her illustrations were featured in Scared Stiff: Everything You Need To Know About 50 Famous Phobias. She is currently working on illustrations for Do More Good. Better. View all posts by gegallas

2 responses to “Cannes/London 2013: Sunday, May 19th

Leave a Reply

